If a truck driver’s negligence caused your accident and injury, you may be entitled to compensation.
Every state has different laws that apply to truck accidents. You need to know the laws of the state where the accident occurred. This article focuses on Florida truck accident claims.
If you a truck driver’s carelessness caused you to get hurt, you may want to make a personal injury claim in Florida. Florida truck accident claims have many aspects in common with Florida auto accident claims. However, there are many differences.
I will highlight the similarities and differences so that you do everything possible in attempt to get the most money for your truck accident case.
Who pays for the damage to your vehicle if a truck driver’s carelessness caused it?
If a truck driver is at fault for your accident, he or she is liable for the property damage to your vehicle. The truck driver may have bodily injury (“BI”) liability coverage or he may be driving for a business that has a self-insured retention (SIR).
There may be other responsible parties that I will talk about later in the article. I will also talk about the insurance coverage that applies to truck later as well.
How long do you have to make a claim if a truck driver crashed into you in Florida?
If a truck driver’s negligence caused your accident in Florida, there is a deadline to file a claim against the truck driver and other liable parties. The time limit depends upon whether the truck driver was private person or entity, or a governmental entity.
When a driver of a car causes an accident, the passengers of that car can make a claim to try to get a car accident settlement against the bodily injury coverage of the driver’s auto insurance.
The passengers of the car may also be able to make a personal injury claim against the truck driver’s insurance if the truck driver was at fault. In most accidents that I have handled, the liability insurance policy of the truck is 1 Million dollars.
18 Wheeler trucks are required to have BI liability insurance. BI liability insurance pays for your damages (pain and suffering, medical bills, lost wages, etc.) if the truck is at fault.
If a driver of a car or motorcycle is in an accident with an 18 wheeler and the driver of the car or motorcycle receives a ticket for causing the crash, the driver of the car or motorcycle may still have a good case. A truck driver may be at-fault even if you do not think he or she is.
Truck drivers have many more regulations to follow than car drivers and may be at fault even if the truck driver didn’t receive a ticket.
If you are in a car and you are hit by a truck, in many cases you will have to prove that you have a permanent injury in order to get money for your pain and suffering.
Are There Insurance Requirements for Trucks in Florida?
Many commercial motor vehicles that are traveling in Florida must to have a minimum limit of BI liability insurance. “Commercial” motor vehicles typically weigh over a certain amount.
However, commercial motor vehicles that are private (owned by the company) don’t have to meet Florida’s minimum financial responsibility requirements.
Public commercial vehicles have to comply with Florida’s BI liability limits.
Hurt from a Truck Accident or Other Accident in Florida?
Call me now at (888) 594-3577 to find out for FREE if we can represent you. We answer calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
No Fees or Costs if I Do Not Get You Money
We speak Spanish. Learn more about us. Check out my law firm reviews.
Leave a Reply