Bodily injury liability (BIL) insurance in an auto policy is protection against claims from others for personal injury. The at fault car’s BIL covers injury to you, not your vehicle. BIL coverage pays for your damages, which may include:
- past medical expenses
- future medical bills
- past wages [it doesn’t cover the 60% of your lost wages, if any, that Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays].
- future lost wage-earning capacity
- past pain and suffering
- future pain and suffering
- loss of enjoyment of life
- mental anguish
Will a Bodily Injury Coverage Pay You if Someone Else Wasn’t At Fault?
No. The negligence of someone – other than you – must have caused your injury in order for his or her bodily injury coverage to pay you compensation.
If you are injured in an auto accident, you can make a claim against the several parties. You can learn more about situations when a car owner in Florida is liable for an accident caused by the driver of his or her car.
Learn if BIL coverage is required on a Florida auto insurance policy. Uninsured motorist (UM) liability coverage is not required in Florida.
Nonstandard car insurance companies, such as United Automobile Insurance Company (UAIC), MGA, Bristol West, U.S. Security, Windhaven Insurance, Redland Insurance Company and Imperial Fire & Casualty (RAC) are more likely to provide no or limited BIL coverage.
Major insurers such as State Farm, Allstate, Progressive, GEICO, Hartford, Nationwide, USAA , Travelers Insurance, Liberty Mutual and others. Nonstandard companies have a reputation for making lower settlement offers than the major insurers.
BIL coverage is often referred to as “B.I.” coverage by insurance claims representatives (adjusters).
Is BIL Coverage Different from PIP?
Yes. In Florida, the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage of an insurance policy may pay for your medical bills and lost wages, regardless of fault.
This assumes that you’re covered under an auto insurance policy that has PIP.
If you are unsure how PIP works, learn more about how to get your medical bills paid after a car accident in Florida.
If your car was damaged in the accident, you would make a claim under the property damage portion of the at fault driver’s insurance policy for replacement value of lost personal property. (e.g. damage to your car, broken eyeglasses, broken computer, etc.).
Drivers in Florida are required to carry at least $10,000 of property damage auto insurance in Florida.
It is possible that the driver that hit you dropped his or her insurance coverage prior to causing your accident. I usually don’t represent people whose vehicle is damaged but they aren’t injured.
Did someone’s carelessness cause your injury in a Florida car crash or other type of accident?
I want to represent you!
My Miami law firm represents people injured anywhere in Florida in car accidents, truck accidents, slip, trip and falls, motorcycle accidents, bike accidents, drunk driving crashes, pedestrian accidents, taxi accidents, accidents involving an Uber or Lyft Driver, and many other types of accidents.
We want to represent you if you were hurt in an accident in Florida. If you were injured in another state but live in Florida, we may also be able to represent you.
Call Us Now!
Call us now at (888) 594-3577 to find out for FREE if we can represent you. We answer calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
No Fees or Costs if We Do Not Get You Money
We speak Spanish. We invite you to learn more about us.
Leave a Reply