If you’re hurt while working in Florida, there is a time limit to make a claim. If you miss this deadline, you lose your benefits.
How long do you have to report an accident in Florida to your employer?
You should report the accident as soon as possible, but no later than thirty (30) days. Otherwise, your workers’ compensation claim may be denied. Florida Statutes 440.185.
What is the time limit for filing a petition for workers’ compensation benefits in Florida?
In general, you have two (2) years from the date of injury to file a petition for workers’ compensation benefits in Florida. Section 440.19(1), Florida Statutes
When Can Your Florida Workers’ Compensation Claim be Closed?
Your Florida workers’ compensation claim is closed one (1) year from the date of your last medical treatment or payment of compensation. Section 440.19(2), Florida Statutes
Car, Truck, Motorcycle and Bike Accidents
If you’re hurt while on the job in a car accident, you may also have a claim against a third party tortfeasor. This is in addition to your workers’ compensation case against your employer.
The time limit to sue in a car accident case is different than the deadline to make a workers’ compensation claim.
- How long you have to sue a driver for your injury from a Florida car crash
- Time Limit to Sue for an Uninsured Motorist Claim in Florida
There are many types of work accidents where, in addition to a workers’ compensation claim, you may have also have a personal injury case against someone other than your employer.
For example, you could be on the clock and slip and fall while buying something at the grocery store for your employer. You would have a workers’ compensation case and a personal injury case against the supermarket.
If so, find out the time limit to sue for negligence in Florida.
Call Me Now!
Call me now at (888) 594-3577 to find out for FREE if I can represent you. We answer calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.